You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone…

Or will they? 

Yesterday, we were driving to church and this thought popped into my head. Will my husband, family, friends actually miss me? 

Of course. 

But perhaps not based on my behavior this past week. 
I was sour, overtired, sick of breastfeeding, overwhelmed by the piles of laundry and dishes, irritated that I couldn’t take naps when I wanted/needed them, hot and sweaty, etc etc etc. 

I really let all of that get to me (notice a trend here folks? I’m an easy target)… And then all of a sudden God said “Would they miss you if this is what they know of you? Why act this way when you can be a beacon of joy and happiness for your family? Why be sad or angry when you can show love and kindness to yourself and others? Follow me and SURRENDER, you silly girl. Show others my amazing love and mercy by the way you live… It might be their only view of it.” 

Crazily enough, I heard that. Well, I thought it. But I think God gave me those thoughts because I immediately smiled and felt ready to attend Mass and be blessed in our holy celebration. 

Well, lo and behold, what did Father preach on? Love. The greatest love – Jesus’ death on the cross. He didn’t have to do it, but he did it… For us. And what does he ask in return? For us to love him, have a servant’s heart and to put others before ourselves. 

I never cease to be amazed at how God works. Because that’s exactly what I needed to hear… as a solution to my bad attitude (post-partum hormones notwithstanding) and as yet another constant reminder of my need to surrender to him and his will. 

Now I’m looking forward to the week ahead. 

I’ll be calling on you, Lord. I know you’re waiting with open, loving arms. 

And I’m going to try harder so that my family really would miss me when I’m gone. 

Leave a Reply

