Getting to work

A day after I shared my vivid imagination and FEELings with you, I received a phone call. A woman with Project 143 was calling to see if I wanted to discuss orphan hosting.

You see, I had registered on their website in hopes of finding a Latvian girl that was up for adoption. We had learned about her through a friend’s church. Her other siblings would all live in our city, and my husband and I were like “yes, how could we NOT adopt a girl who’s family already lives here and she’s stuck in an orphanage?!”

It turns out the Latvian girl was not involved with this Project 143 group (though we haven’t ruled out pursuing her adoption… Just postponed!)… But they still called me anyway, as I had expressed interest on their site.

So, “E” calls me. We still have three more kids available for this winter, she says. Three orphans looking to spend four weeks in the US. A chance for a real Christmas and a happy start to 2016.

My husband and I discuss this, over the course of another day or two.

On Friday, November 21, we said yes.
The deadline was yesterday, December 1.

In just ten days, we completed a ten-step application process, a social worker home visit/report, and paid the fee of several thousand dollars (with the generous help of some family and friends!).

Our orphan arrives on December 17, 2015.

I have 15 days to…

  • Overnight some paperwork
  • Figure out how to get to and from DFW with a 14 year old boy who speaks little to no English
  • Get sitters for my kids so I can get to and from DFW
  • Schedule optometry and dental appointments
  • Move a dresser into his room
  • Get him some clothes/shoes
  • Purchase necessary toiletries
  • Pick up books on his country from the library
  • Buy him Christmas gifts
  • Get him a stocking!
  • Mail my Christmas cards that have sat here for 5 days… I’m a little behind now…
  • Keep praying!

I must be insane.

And yet….

Something had told us that this is the right thing to do. The necessary thing. How could we NOT house an orphan for four weeks once we knew about this program and these kids’ needs?!

Looking back on my last post, I find it extremely interesting that the things I said I was grateful for were tied into this situation, without consciously knowing it…

Miracles: it’s a miracle that we were receptive to the Holy Spirit’s guidance, that my husband and I both felt the same feelings, and that we worked as a team during his busiest work season to pull off this paperwork!

Trips around the world: obvious… This kid is flying from halfway around the world to be here. I was blessed to have been exposed to other cultures, too.

Pope Francis: a symbol of mercy and love. A great example for all people, regardless of faith.

My brother: He’s my brother because we were able to adopt him. I was six. That desire to do something similar myself has been with me my whole life. Well, age six and on. 🙂

I also wrote to “Get up. Count your blessings. And get to work.”

Only I had no idea that a day later that’s exactly what I’d be doing.

 

The Lord works in mysterious ways. Truly. I’m in awe.

 

I will post more updates once he’s here. For the sake of his privacy, we’ll call him UV.

Can’t wait to share more about our experience with UV! Pray for a safe journey for him. Pray for our family.

And… I love this:

“Be doers of the word and not hearers only, deluding yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks at his own face in a mirror. He sees himself, then goes off and promptly forgets what he looked like. But the one who peers into the perfect law of freedom and perseveres, and is not a hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, such a one shall be blessed in what he does. If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, his religion is vain. Religion that is pure and undefiled before God and the Father is this: to care for orphans and widows in their affliction and to keep oneself unstained by the world.” (‭James‬ ‭1‬:‭22-27‬ NABRE)
AMEN.

Leave a Reply

