Wordless

​I’m wordless! But not speechless. Ha.
A poem.

 

‘Twas the week after Christmas
And my house is a wreck.
Toys and clothes strewn about
The floors, stairs and deck.
So away to ranch we ran
To escape the disarray
And spend time with our friends
On New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day.
It was a great celebration had by all
Myself, eating cinnamon rolls…
The boys playing football.
When what did I realize was missing this year?
A word to guide me towards love and not fear.
I don’t make resolutions anymore.
I hate to think I keep failing…
When really goals and dreams
Keep my heart and soul sailing.
So I need a new word for these upcoming months
To straighten me out
And keep me out of a funk.
Should I use mercy or grace?
Glory, hope, joy or faith?
I’m so stuck.
I don’t know what to do.
What word would you choose
To help guide you?
Alas I’m at home
Four laundry loads in,
And I’m reminded of the ways
He washes away sin.
I’d like to decide, but not right now
His timing is perfect and he’ll show me how
To choose the best word or quote or verse
That helps me this year to bless and not curse.
So I’ll sit here and ponder and pray and write.
Happy late Christmas to all
And to all a good night!

Leave a Reply

